Fees and Expenses

Schedule of Tuition and Fees 2017–2018

The following reflects applicable system-wide tuition and fees and nonresident tuition for the semester system. Cash, personal check, and certified check or money order may be used for payment of student tuition and fees. For credit card and electronic check payments, access the Bursar's Office webpage at bursar.sfsu.edu for more information.

Mandatory system-wide tuition fees are waived for those individuals who qualify for such exemption under the provisions of the California Education Code (see section on fee waivers).

The CSU makes every effort to keep student costs to a minimum. Fees listed in published schedules or student accounts may need to be increased when public funding is inadequate. Therefore, CSU must reserve the right, even after initial fee payments are made, to increase or modify any listed fee. All listed fees, other than mandatory system wide fees, are subject to change without notice, until the date when instruction for a particular semester or quarter has begun. All CSU listed fees should be regarded as estimates that are subject to change upon approval by The Board of Trustees, the Chancellor, or the Presidents, as appropriate. Changes in mandatory system wide fees will be made in accordance with the requirements of the Working Families Student Fee Transparency and Accountability Act (Sections 66028–66028.6 of the Education Code).

Nonresident Tuition Fee (U.S. and International)

In addition to the regular tuition and registration fees listed above, nonresidents of the State of California must pay an additional $396 per unit (or fraction) for nonresident tuition fee. The total nonresident tuition fee paid per term will be determined by the number of units taken.

Open University (Concurrent Enrollment)

Fees for extension courses are subject to change without notice.

  • Fee per semester unit $395.00

Fees are subject to change without notice. For the latest information on fees, go to the Bursar's Office web page at bursar.sfsu.edu/. For current information on Open University fees, call College of Extended Learning, (415) 338-1376.

Miscellaneous University Fees

Mscellaneous Fees Maximum Fee per Item
Application for admission or readmission payable by check or money order (non-refundable) $55.00
Non-Refundable Late Registration Fee $25.00
Failure to meet administratively required appointment or time limit (late fee) $20.00
Payment returned for any cause including check or electronic payment (The University reserves the right to refuse to accept electronic or personal checks from persons who have previously paid with invalid electronic payments or have written bad checks.) $20.00
Replacement of items lost or broken, including laboratory equipment (minimum charge $1.00) Cost
Transcript of Record $8.00
Graduation Fee $100.00
Binding Thesis $25.00

Library Overdue and Lost Item Fees: Books and Other Library Materials

Fees are computed on a per transaction basis. Overdue fees are computed from the time the material was due until the time the material is returned or declared lost.

  $ per Transaction
Hourly or Overnight Loans for Items Placed on Reserve Status (whether in the Reserve Book Room or other areas of the library)
Per hour 1.00
Maximum per transaction 25.00
Hourly or Overnight Loans for Other Items (items not on reserve status)
Per hour 0.25
Maximum per transaction 10.00
Loans of One to Six Days
Per day 1.00
Maximum per transaction 25.00
Loans of Seven or More Days
Per day 0.25
Maximum per transaction 25.00
Lost Book, Periodical, Laptop Computer or other equipment or Media Fees Replacement Cost + Processing Charge
Damage Fees From 50 cents to Replacement Cost + Processing Charge

Note: Replacement Cost for books is based on a predetermined average cost of an academic book. At present the Processing Charge is $20.00 per item. Laptop Computer or other equipment replacement cost is actual cost for replacement.

Fee Payment Deadlines

Payment for Tuition and Fees must be received by the published Fee Payment Deadline to avoid any administrative late fees.

To remain enrolled in Priority Registration classes for the Fall, Spring, and Summer semesters, students must pay by the published fee payment deadline. Students who do not pay their fees by the published deadline are subject to enrollment cancellation.

Please refer to the Bursar’s Office webpage at bursar.sfsu.edu for information regarding current fee payment deadlines.

Financial Aid Fee Payment Deadlines

If the Office of Student Financial Aid notifies you that you have been awarded and you have accepted an offer of Financial Aid, excluding college work-study, your tuition and fee payment will be postponed until the third week of the semester. You may register for classes without paying tuition fees up front. Do not apply for the University’s Installment Payment Agreement unless your aid has been cancelled. See Financial Aid Important Dates for more information. Aid must be disbursed by the third week of the semester to avoid the non-refundable administrative fee of $20.

If a student is found ineligible for financial aid after they have enrolled in classes or if the financial aid is not sufficient to pay tuition and fees in full, the student is responsible for paying the fees or unpaid balance before the third week of the semester. Please refer to the Bursar’s Office webpage at bursar.sfsu.edu/ for information regarding the current payment deadlines.

If you register for classes and decide not to attend SF State, you MUST drop all classes by the published refund deadline through the Student Center and/or in-person at the Registrar’s Office. (See Refund Guidelines under Title IV – Return of Federal Financial Aid Fund Due to Withdrawal).

Installment Plans

All students who are eligible to enroll may use one of the installment plans offered by the university, with the exceptions of students with financial aid deferments, approved waivers or subsidies, or students who defaulted twice on their installment plan agreement in a previous semester. Students with outstanding financial obligations must pay their obligations before or at the time of their enrolling in the current semester’s installment plan. For more information and a copy of the installment plan contract, go to the Bursar's Office webpage at bursar.sfsu.edu.

Tuition fees are subject to change without notice. The tuition fee is applicable to all CSU semester-system campuses except CSU Stanislaus. All students must pay regular tuition and fees. For the latest information on fees, please visit the Bursar's Office web page.

Undergraduate – Regular Session—Fall and Spring

Tuition and Fees 6.0 units or less 6.1 units or more
(per Semester – Credit or Audit)
Tuition Fee $1,665.00 $2,871.00
Campus Fees:
Student Body Center Fee $82.00 $82.00
Recreation and Wellness Center Fee $160.00 $160.00
Student Body Association Fee $54.00 $54.00
Student Health Service Fee $157.00 $157.00
Instructionally Related Activities Fee $118.00 $118.00
Health Facilities Fee $3.00 $3.00
Campus Service Card Fee $2.00 $2.00
Gator Pass $180.00 $180.00
Student Involvement and Representation Fee1 $2.00 $2.00
Total per semester $2,423.00 $3,629.00
1

Student has the option to opt out of paying this fee if the student chooses to by published Census date.

Undergraduate – Summer Session

Tuition and Fees 6.0 units or less 6.1 units or more
(Credit or Audit)
Tuition Fee $1,587.00 $2,736.00
Campus Fees:
Student Health Service Fee $73.00 $73.00
Recreation and Wellness Center Fee $42.00 $42.00
Student Body Center Fee $38.00 $38.00
Student Body Association Fee $25.00 $25.00
Instructionally Related Activities Fee $9.00 $9.00
Campus Service Card Fee $2.00 $2.00
Total per Semester $1,776.00 $2,925.00

Tuition fees are subject to change without notice. The tuition fee is applicable to all CSU semester-system campuses except CSU Stanislaus. All students must pay regular tuition and fees. For the latest information on fees, please visit the Bursar's Office web page.

Graduate

Graduate students in the College of Business will be charged an additional MBA Program Fee at a rate of $700 for students enrolled in 6.0 units or less or $1,200 for students enrolled in 6.1 or more units for the regular sessions and prorated for the Summer session. Graduate students enrolled in an approved graduate professional business master’s program will be charged an additional Professional Program Fee of $254 per unit for classes to fulfill the degree requirements. Note CoB Professional Fee does not apply to students in the M.A. program in Economics.

Graduate Students in the Masters of Public Administration (M.P.A.) will be charged an additional MPA Program Fee at a rate of $430 for students enrolled in 6.0 units or less or $850 for students enrolled in 6.1 or more units for the regular sessions.

Graduate students in the Doctoral Program in Education Leadership (Ed.D.) will be charged $5,559 for the Tuition Fee along with campus fees.

Graduate – Regular Session—Fall and Spring

Tuition and Fees 6.0 units or less 6.1 units or more
(per Semester, Credit or Audit)
Tuition Fee $2,082.00 $3,588.00
Campus Fees:
Student Body Center Fee $82.00 $82.00
Recreation and Wellness Center Fee $160.00 $160.00
Student Body Association Fee $54.00 $54.00
Student Health Service Fee $157.00 $157.00
Instructionally Related Activities Fee $118.00 $118.00
Health Facilities Fee $3.00 $3.00
Campus Service Card Fee $2.00 $2.00
Student Involvement and Representation Fee1 $2.00 $2.00
Total per semester $2,840.00 $4,346.00
1

Student has the option to opt out of paying this fee if the student chooses to by published Census date.

Graduate – Summer Session

Tuition and Fees 6.0 units or less 6.1 units or more
(Credit or Audit)
Tuition Fee $1,953.00 $3,369.00
Campus Fees:
Student Health Services Fee $73.00 $73.00
Recreation and Wellness Center Fee $42.00 $42.00
Student Body Center Fee $38.00 $38.00
Student Body Association Fee $25.00 $25.00
Instructionally Related Activities Fee $9.00 $9.00
Campus Service Card Fee $2.00 $2.00
Total per semester $2,142.00 $3,558.00

Tuition fees are subject to change without notice. The tuition fee is applicable to all CSU semester-system campuses except CSU Stanislaus. All students must pay regular tuition and fees. For the latest information on fees, please visit the Bursar's Office web page.

Credential – Regular Session—Fall and Spring

Tuition and Fees 6.0 units or less 6.1 units or more
(per Semester, Credit or Audit)
Tuition Fee $1,932.00 $3,330.00
Campus Fees:
Student Body Center Fee $82.00 $82.00
Recreation and Wellness Center Fee $160.00 $160.00
Student body Association Fee $54.00 $54.00
Student Health Service Fee $157.00 $157.00
Instructionally Related Activities Fee $118.00 $118.00
Health Facilities Fee $3.00 $3.00
Campus Service Card Fee $2.00 $2.00
Student Involvement Fee1 $2.00 $2.00
Total per semester $2,690.00 $4,088.00
1

Student has the option to opt out of paying this fee if the student chooses to by published Census date.

Credential – Summer Session

Tuition and Fees 6.0 units or less 6.1 units or more
(Credit or Audit)
Tuition Fee $1,842.00 $3,174.00
Campus Fees:
Student Health Service Fee $73.00 $73.00
Recreation and Wellness Center Fee $42.00 $42.00
Student Body Center Fee $38.00 $38.00
Student Body Association Fee $25.00 $25.00
Instructionally Related Activities Fee $9.00 $9.00
Campus Service Card Fee $2.00 $2.00
Total per semester $2,031.00 $3,363.00